You Think You Know…but You Have No Idea

Standard

You think you know… but You Have No Idea.

                This is the diary of a poor college student. True Life: I Got screwed out of financial aid. These are the documentaries MTV should be making. Does it adversely affect my life when Kim Kardashian puts out another sex tape? Not particularly, but it is entertaining. We look to the mishaps of celebrities to make us feel better about our lives.

                When I see the “real” housewives spending more on a car than my associate’s degree costs, I get a bit sad. When their kids complain about having to get a job, I can’t help but want to toss my television out of the window, but I can’t. If I break something I have to buy it or live without it. That, and my television is a 100-lb behemoth and I would probably re-break my back if I attempted to throw it out the window…but maybe it would fill in the giant potholes in my driveway. Anyway, you get the point. I don’t have a flat panel or anything too extravagant, but I go to school in hopes that my higher education will begat a higher paycheck.

                I tend to write about being a poor college kid a lot, because it’s what I know. I don’t know how to be an extravagant millionaire but I bet I’d be just darling at it. And because I had that much money I could say things like “darling” with a fur coat on and cigarette holder a la Breakfast at Tiffany’s in my hand (they are about $34 online in case you’re wondering.) If I ever got to that point, I only ask that someone slaps the hell out of me. I would like to use a word more severe than hell but this is a family-oriented blog!

                All I want to do is have some fun, and I got a feeling I’m not the only one. Props to Sheryl Crow, because I think that is all everyone wants to do but until you pay your dues that is  just a dream in the near future (unless you go to be a doctor or marry rich.) Well, I don’t have the patients to be a doctor (yes I spelled it that way intentionally), and I only plan on getting married if my life is threatened or something out of Beetlejuice is happening. I have to pay my dues.  That means college. That means pending the equivalent of two weeks of my pay on books for one semester. That means selling back my $150 physics book back for 1/3 the cost if I am lucky. By the way if anyone needs a physics book let me know I won’t charge you $150 and we can barter!

                I am not the sharpest of students when it comes to certain subjects (math…physics…ect) but I know what I would like to do for the rest of my days or until it stops being fun and that is writing. Two years and almost $10,000 later I got off cheap. Compared to other local schools I went to the bargain bin of college and probably got a better education. Community college professors do not make a lot of money. More than I make but still not a lot. What can we draw from this? Oh, they actually want to be there to teach because they sure as hell aren’t doing it for the money. Which means for the students, they get a better education from a community college than from, let’s say, Penn State and the community college credits transfer almost anywhere.

                I am 20 and in debt. $6,000 in debt. Gasp! It must be from credit cards! Well, I did have some credit card debt, but it was for my $400 in textbooks, but that is paid off. Not to brag, but I’m going to do it anyway, I had a 3.9 last semester and I live by myself. I work a full time job and a part time (career) job to pay for gas to take me to class so I can get a better career job full-time that does pay my bills. I do, occasionally, have a life though. Those wild nights usually end by 10:30p.m which is earlier than I go to bed when I have studying to do.  

Thanks to the federal government I will probably get little to no grant money for school. Why? Oh, my parents make too much money. Yes, that is there money they earned. They should not have to pay for me to get a higher education.  I don’t want a handout but I thought the government was there to help.  Here’s where the feds say I went wrong: I decided to go to college straight after high school. I am not married. I am not pregnant (thank god!) and I did not already have a child (no 16 and pregnant here.) If you are under 25, unmarried, and without spawn you generally get little to nothing if you’re parents are( gasp!) middle class. Myself and my parents pay a higher percentage of taxes than well, a Kim Kardashian type.

Reality stars whine more than most people I know. I just got mad because I ran out of s’mores  Poptarts (store brand but still phenomenal)! I have become used to having them for more than breakfast: 1. Because I am not a morning person and nothing in the wee hours of the day make me happy and 2. They are cheap and easy (again I’d like to make an inappropriate joke here but I can’t.) In the grand scheme of things what can I or anyone else in my situation do? Either party for seven years after high school then start college or stick it out and hope for the best. I’ll go with the latter.

About Trish Reznick

Writer. Pessimistic optimist. News junkie. I write real estate advertising pieces, but my heart's in music journalism. To make the real estate biz more exciting I put music references in to a good percentage of my writings. I guess you could call me a liberal. I have an extensive record collection and I prefer them over MP3s any day... unless that particular day I plan on leaving my apartment. Considering I'm an extrovert, that is quite frequently. I'm a scorpio...which is a nice way of saying I have intense mood swings... I thought that was just called being a chick.

Leave a Reply

