Email to my Writing About Literature Professor

Standard

The assignment was to write at least a paragraph on what you decided to write a six-page research paper on. It is too nice to go to class so this is what I sent:

Trish Reznick

Professor Walker

Eng 104

3 April 2012

               

 

“I’d rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy.”

“If all the girls who attended the Yale prom were laid end to end, I wouldn’t be a bit surprised.”

“If you have any young friends who aspire to become writers, the second greatest favor you can do them is to present them with copies of The Elements of Style. The first greatest, of course, is to shoot them now, while they’re happy.”

Razors pain you;
Rivers are damp;
Acids stain you;
And drugs cause cramp.
Guns aren’t lawful;
Nooses give;
Gas smells awful;
You might as well live.”

 

                Even by today’s standards these quotes are a bit risqué. Think back to the 1950’s and they would resonate a lot more, but to be honest these were uttered by Dorothy Parker in the 1920’s. Obviously she lived by her own rules, but how and why did she feel this way? By looking at some of her written work, and also her biographical notes I will try and make excuses for Parker and her sometimes purely awful sense of humor. I feel it is necessary for me to do this because, my parents and friends have been doing the same for me for many years.

                If I can find a reliable source, I will try and find out just how Parker feels about life, love, and writing using direct quotes. I think the best way  to go about this is to read her works firsthand, and since she is highly entertaining, I won’t mind at all.

About Trish Reznick

Writer. Pessimistic optimist. News junkie. I write real estate advertising pieces, but my heart's in music journalism. To make the real estate biz more exciting I put music references in to a good percentage of my writings. I guess you could call me a liberal. I have an extensive record collection and I prefer them over MP3s any day... unless that particular day I plan on leaving my apartment. Considering I'm an extrovert, that is quite frequently. I'm a scorpio...which is a nice way of saying I have intense mood swings... I thought that was just called being a chick.

Leave a Reply

