Miss Independent.

Standard

Single ladies. Independent Women. Survivor. I will Survive. These are the songs of today… yesteryear gave us My Boyfriend’s Back and Mr.Postman. Well… the postal service is not used as much for letters as it is for Amazon internet purchases, and I’m pretty sure a protective boyfriend could make threats on Facebook, OoVoo, or Skype.

Ernest Hemingway and countless other authors had books published posthumously containing all the letters they wrote to friends, family, loved ones, and forbidden loves. The Museum at Bethel Woods even had a blues exhibit containing letters written home by Janis Joplin. The words on the paper were penned with meticulous, unruly behavior. The way the ink flowed through the sentence structure and talks of making it to her 27th birthday sent shivers down my entire body.

Facebook doesn’t let us see pure emotion. Yes, it’s unfiltered but it’s also unrefined. Will there be books simply titled “Statuses” or “tweets?” I know from personal experience that sarcasm does not convey well through plain text, and over usage of emoticons gets old after awhile. Then again, even in everyday speech there are misunderstandings.

My first semester as a journalism major, we were assigned a series of thought provoking statements, to which we were supposed to give an example of from our own lives.

Name a time when communication worked. That was easier said than done. Simple statements such as “no” and so on were easily communicated, but when it comes to matters of the heart… forget about it.

So have things really changed?

“Nevermind I’ll find someone like you…”

I don’t think so.

About Trish Reznick

Writer. Pessimistic optimist. News junkie. I write real estate advertising pieces, but my heart's in music journalism. To make the real estate biz more exciting I put music references in to a good percentage of my writings. I guess you could call me a liberal. I have an extensive record collection and I prefer them over MP3s any day... unless that particular day I plan on leaving my apartment. Considering I'm an extrovert, that is quite frequently. I'm a scorpio...which is a nice way of saying I have intense mood swings... I thought that was just called being a chick.

Leave a Reply

