Things I can never be

Standard

Ok. I usually try to be upbeat most of the time, but in this case I have to face the cold,hard, sad, GPA killing truth: I will never be a physicist. As a journalist, I get to peek in to the inner workings of what makes (wo)man tick, how people perform their jobs, and how differently or comparably their brains work.

In doing so, I have a list of careers/titles I know for a fact I cannot obtain… and … I’m ok with this:

1. Parent (I like being called Auntie Trish…my friends seem to be popping out kids left and right anyway. Up and down not so much so from those angles you’re ok)

2. Mathmetician right brain left brain mumbo jumbo

3.Physicist (see above definition) I know that these things work, but do I really need to know WHY? I think not.

4.physician/heathcare – I have no patients/patience

5. Anything not relating to writing – See explanations for 2 and 3

6. Anything to do with numbers (self explanitory) My mom is a medical coder (how did this skip me?)

7. Circus life (Clowns frighten me… Pennywise and Gacy don’t though… at least you could tell just from looking at them that they were bad. Other clowns are hiding something…it could just be psoriasis but it’s still frightening)

8. Anything to do with heights ( I am afraid of heights more than clowns. I have an inane fear of stepladders… my dad is a painter. I love rollercoasters. Go figure.)

9. Farm work– I’m allergic to grass

10. Ice cream tester — I’m lactose intolerant

11. Perfume scent tester — See item 9

12. Stunt woman– see item 8

13. Gymnast– see items 8 and/or 9 Plus I have a bionic spine

14. Pilot– See item 8

Conclusion: I’ll stick to being a journalist

About Trish Reznick

Writer. Pessimistic optimist. News junkie. I write real estate advertising pieces, but my heart's in music journalism. To make the real estate biz more exciting I put music references in to a good percentage of my writings. I guess you could call me a liberal. I have an extensive record collection and I prefer them over MP3s any day... unless that particular day I plan on leaving my apartment. Considering I'm an extrovert, that is quite frequently. I'm a scorpio...which is a nice way of saying I have intense mood swings... I thought that was just called being a chick.

Leave a Reply

