A Case of Mistaken Identity

Standard

No, not cherry pie…apple pie.
Chris Arbisi was not in Warrant, nor was he friends with Jani Lane who fronted the hair band and passed away this summer.
Chris even received condolences from people for “his loss”, a loss he never had. What did have is a song called “Apple Pie.”
Chris was 18 when he joined 1990s metal band White Trash as part of the Badass Brass section of horn players, he toured the country, had a music video on heavy rotation on MTV, he  played showcases in New York City ( Queens to be exact), and did it all before his 22nd birthday.
After White Trash disbanded in the early 90s, Arbisi stayed in music as a sound engineer. “To be successful in music you have to be great… I was good and needed to be great.”
You know the Six Flags commercial with the dancing old guy? Yes, that was one of his projects.
Now at age 40, he has an iPhone, but no music on it. When asked what he’s listening to now he responded with: “Two kids, yelling Daddy, daddy, daddy.“
A Myspace music search of him now paints a different side of Arbisi. There’s no flannel. His hair is not long and unruly. It’s purely Chris, the father and husband.
But how does one go from funk metal with a brass section, to stripped down acoustic songs reflecting on life?
Arbisi grew up.
One of the big misconceptions about Arbisi is that he was in to heavy metal because of the sound stylings of White Trash. “ True at heart, I’m a rock and roll guy… a music lover,” Arbisi says.
“I’m glad I got it out of my system at 19, I don’t think I ever would’ve gotten that out of my system, if I hadn‘t done it then” Arbisi says of his Trash days.
Arbisi’s second solo album, which he is currently working on,  focuses on his experiences as a father and the joy his children give him.

He’s starting to sound all-American. Just like apple pie.

About Trish Reznick

Writer. Pessimistic optimist. News junkie. I write real estate advertising pieces, but my heart's in music journalism. To make the real estate biz more exciting I put music references in to a good percentage of my writings. I guess you could call me a liberal. I have an extensive record collection and I prefer them over MP3s any day... unless that particular day I plan on leaving my apartment. Considering I'm an extrovert, that is quite frequently. I'm a scorpio...which is a nice way of saying I have intense mood swings... I thought that was just called being a chick.

Leave a Reply

