Tenth anniversary

Standard

Since September 11,2001 much has changed… but nothing more than me.  I have grown up in countless ways, bittered by the trials and tribulations of the “oppressed” life as an American college student, working two jobs, only to have my net pay consumed in fossil fuels , but this is still the country I am proud to call home.

As the tenth anniversary had come and gone, I got to thinking. The death of about 3,000 people can be commemorated by a collector’s coin, coffee mug, and American flags made courtesy of China.

One could even view it as capitalizing on misfortune. The same people who made our clothes, children’s toys, shoes, and flag pins also help our unemployment rates rise.

There were talks of a 20-something dollar admission price at the Ground Zero memorial. The moral of the story is that you can pay your respects in tears, but we prefer cold, hard, cash.

When I think back to that day, not many solid details stick out from before the first tower fell, but what I do remember is the resurgence of patriotism after all was said and the damage was done.

I still remember the first time I saw footage of the towers falling. I had returned home from school, still excited for the beginning of my fourth grade year, and my parents were glued to the television.

My heart ached. I suddenly felt unsafe in my own home, my own country. I felt helpless, because there was nothing I could do to change the reality of the situation, and then I went outside and played.

Initially, I moved on from the situation quickly, yet ten years later the wound is re-opened worse than ever. Our safety had been compromised, two wars later I’m still unsure of what other attacks might be forged on our soil.

With all the news coverage, it feels like the Twin Towers fell just yesterday, my grieving process had just begun. I felt sick to my stomach and lethargic, until I thought back to my nine-year old self.

The fourth grade me dealt a lot better than the second-year college student me. Sometimes you just need to go outside and play.

About Trish Reznick

Writer. Pessimistic optimist. News junkie. I write real estate advertising pieces, but my heart's in music journalism. To make the real estate biz more exciting I put music references in to a good percentage of my writings. I guess you could call me a liberal. I have an extensive record collection and I prefer them over MP3s any day... unless that particular day I plan on leaving my apartment. Considering I'm an extrovert, that is quite frequently. I'm a scorpio...which is a nice way of saying I have intense mood swings... I thought that was just called being a chick.

Leave a Reply

